...an ESRC Doctoral Training Centre

Human Geography

Hannah Awcock

Organisation: Royal Holloway

Pathway: Human Geography
Thesis:  Space and Contentious Politics
Email: Hannah.Awcock.2009@live.rhul.ac.uk
Supervisors:  Dr. Harriet Hawkins
 


Sarah Burke

Organisation: Royal Holloway

Pathway: Human Geography
Thesis: Exploring and evaluating the politics and possibilities of artistic practices for public engagement with climate change
Email: Miriam.Burke.2013@live.rhul.ac.uk
Supervisors: Harriet Hawkins
 


Felicity Butler

Organisation: Royal Holloway

Pathway: Human Geography
Thesis: Fair Trade & Unpaid Women's Work
Email: Felicity.Butler.2011@live.rhul.ac.uk
Supervisors: Dr. Dorothea Johanna Kleine

Collaborator:  The Body Shop International


Mary Cobbett

Organisation: Royal Holloway

Pathway: Human Geography
Thesis: Empowering girls to claim rights? Non-formal education and the 'stop the violence campaign in Kenya
Email: Mary.Cobbett.2012@live.rhul.ac.uk
Supervisors: Katherine Brickell
 


Simon Cook

Organisation: Royal Holloway

Pathway: Human Geography 
Thesis title: Run-Commuting in the City: Movement, Meaning, Experience
Email address: Simon.Cook.2013@live.rhul.ac.uk
Supervisors: Prof. Peter Adey, Prof. Phil Crang
Personal page(s): www.jographies.wordpress.com
Royal Holloway Student Profile
www.twitter.com/SimonIanCook


Philip Coventry

Organisation: University of Reading

Pathway:  Human Geography

Thesis: Climate Justice within the Multilateral Governance Regime: An Analysis of Discourse and Policy Output

Email: p.coventry@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Supervisors: Dr Chukwumerije Okereke and Prof Catriona McKinnon

South East DTC Student Representative for the University of Reading (2015-16)


Daniel Crawford

Organisation: Royal Holloway

Pathway:  Human Geography

Thesis:  (Dis)Assembling the Sacred: Transformed Sites of Worship in Post secular Britain

Email:  Daniel.Crawford.2012@live.rhul.ac.uk

Supervisors:  Prof Veronica della Dora and Prof David Gilbert


Naomi Graham

Organisation: Royal Holloway

Pathway: Human Geography
Thesis: Sheltering from Violence: Women’s Experiences of Faith-Based and Secular Safe Houses in Cambodia
Email: Naomi.Graham.2014@live.rhul.ac.uk
Supervisors: Dr. Katherine Brickell, Prof. Katie Willis

Collaborator:  CAFOD

Overseas Fieldwork:  Cambodia

Difficult Language Training


 


Emily Hopkins

Organisation: Royal Holloway

Pathway: Human Geography
Thesis: Creating the Ordinary City: Creative Policy and the Making of Place and Community in Small Cities
Email: Emily.Hopkins.2013@live.rhul.ac.uk
Supervisors: Dr Oli Mould, Dr Harriet Hawkins
Personal page: www.twitter.com/emilyhopkins__


Katy Lawn

Organisation: Royal Holloway

Pathway:  Human Geography

Thesis:  Affective Geographies of the Contemporary British Workplace: lifeworlds, biopolitics and precarity

Email: Kathryn.Lawn.2015@live.rhul.ac.uk

Supervisor:  Prof Philip Crang and Dr Oli Mould


Simon Malyon

Organisation: Royal Holloway

Pathway:  Human Geography

Thesis:  Urban Labour Market Segmentation in Urumqi, China

Email:  Simon.malyon.2015@live.rhul.ac.uk

Supervisors:  Prof Katie Willis and Dr Sally Lloyd-Evans

Overseas Fieldwork:  China

Difficult Language Training:  Uyghur


Sabine Mayeux

Organisation: University of Reading

Pathway: Human Geography

Thesis: Food Justice in the City: Austerity, Citizenship and Creative Urban Space
Email:  s.mayeux@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Prof. Mike Goodman (University of Reading) and Dr Oli Mould (Royal Holloway)

Update:  2016-17 SEDTC Student Representative for the University of Reading


Shaun Smith

Organisation: Royal Holloway

Pathway: Human Geography
Thesis: Slums and Security: Infrastructure Upgrades, Social Relations and Tenure Security in Two African Cities in Kenya & Tanzania
Email: Shaun.Smith.2010@live.rhul.ac.uk
Supervisors: Alex Loftus, Vandana Desai

Overseas Fieldwork:  Kenya 

Update: PhD completed August 2015
 


Katherine Stansfeld

Organisation: Royal Holloway

Pathway: Human Geography
Thesis: Mapping Vernacular Geographies in Places of Super-Diversity
Email: Katherine.Stansfeld.2014@live.rhul.ac.uk
Supervisors: Profe.Philip Crang, Dr. Gwilym Eades

Collaborator: Ordnance Survey
 


Nina Willment

Organisation: Royal Holloway

Pathway: Human Geography
Thesis: Geographies of the creative workplace: the workspaces and careers of ‘grime’ DJs in London
Email: Nina.Willment.2013@live.rhul.ac.uk
Supervisors: Professor Philip Crang and Professor David Gilbert
Overseas Fieldtrip: USA